The arrival of the west wind.

I’ve not been able to keep this up to date as much as I’d like. That’s partly due to the usual “dramas” of life and the fact that our new arrival has certainly arrived!!

Zephyr has arrived. In fact he arrived last Sunday afternoon around 2pm. He is gorgeous but wow can he scream! His first interaction with Echo went roughly as follows:

– Echo came over (on the lead), tongue out and excited to play

-Echo sniffed ever so gently at Zephyr

-Zephyr Screamed!

When I say screamed, I mean actually screamed. The noise was sickening. If I didn’t any better I’d say Echo had bitten him with the noise he made. It was all so overwhelming for the wee pup who has obviously no other experience of dogs than his litter mates. So to come to a strange house with a strange slavering dog who is clearly on ecstasy, must be quite a shock to the system. After the initial meeting, Ben sat with the pup on his knee to make him feel safe while Echo ran about round about him.

Initially it was too much having the two dogs in the house running ‘free’, so we moved Zeph’s crate to the living room and with Zeph safely inside we let Echo meet him through the cage (this was advice from our dog trainer). Doing it this way allows the two dogs to meet but stops them invading each others space. We progressed from this to having both dogs out together but it took a few days to get them settled. I use the term settled and I use it very loosely! Settled for me, means that they aren’t killing each other and can play without getting too carried away.

After a few days, we went from manic to this (these pics are rare events but I still them as a gold star!):

11402774_10152798604536493_7348747452502158921_o  11416327_10152808379856493_6218144990021542044_o

So it is possible to get them both to calm and sleep together. We are obviously not leaving them unsupervised at this stage as it is still very early days but it can be done! These are just two of the pics I look at when we are all having a bad day.

Zephyr at the moment is screaming bloody murder whenever we try to leave him so this is the priority in the training plan so far. The sound is actually sickening that he makes and I am so surprised we haven’t had any complaints yet! The noise is incredible and he is clearly anxious at being abandoned but at some point we do both need to work. So I have spent all of today just leaving him alone for a few minutes and returning with quiet praise whenever he stops making noise. So far it seems to be having a positive effect but it is still very early days. Lots of hard work to come.

Puppies ARE HARD WORK! It is even more hard work when you already have a wired dog but hopefully all the sleepless hours and hard work and training and just sheer determination will pay off and we will have two happy dogs:

1425433_10152801773281493_7649130683115749727_o 11336964_10152801773541493_4645267446705139071_o

If anyone is thinking of getting a puppy there are a few things to consider:

1) Can I afford it?

2) How much time/space etc do I have?

3) Can I function with limited sleep (hint: if the answer is no to that, don’t do it!)

4) Do I care that my house will be a riot for all time?

5) Can I deal with a howling puppy (it is like torture. I am willing to tell you anything you want to know right now, after a day of almost constant noise!)

6) Can I cope in winter having to get up in the dark to go walking?

These are only a few of the questions to consider.

If you do decide to get a puppy, cuddly toys always help:

11026319_10152809345336493_2237202356894003473_o

Leave a Reply

